Tuesday, May 22, 2007

Freedom of Information

The roll of dishonour: Thos MPs who voted to exempt themselves from the freedom of Information Act:

Of 96 MPs who voted in favour, 21 were Conservative MPs - Peter Atkinson (Hexham), Simon Burns (Chelmsford West), Sir John Butterfill (Bournemouth West), James Duddridge (Rochford & Southend East),Tobias Ellwood (Bournemouth East),Julie Kirkbride (Bromsgrove),Greg Knight (Yorkshire East),Dr Julian Lewis (New Forest East),David Maclean (Penrith & The Border),Bob Neill (Bromley & Chislehurst),Andrew Pelling (Croydon Central),Mark Pritchard (Wrekin),John Randall (Uxbridge),David Ruffley (Bury St Edmunds),David Tredinnick (Bosworth),Ann Widdecombe (Maidstone & The Weald),Lady Ann Winterton (Congleton) and Sir Nicholas Winterton (Macclesfield). The Conservative tellers for the Ayes was Tim Boswell (Daventry). All of them should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.

78 were Labour MPs - Bob Ainsworth (Coventry North East),Graham Allen (Nottingham North),Janet Anderson (Rossendale & Darwen),Adrian Bailey (West Bromwich West),Sir Stuart Bell (Middlesbrough),Clive Betts (Sheffield Attercliffe),Liz Blackman (Erewash),Nick Brown (Newcastle upon Tyne East & Wallsend),Colin Burgon (Elmet),David Cairns (Inverclyde),Alan Campbell (Tynemouth),Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley),David Clelland (Tyne Bridge),Harry Cohen (Leyton & Wanstead),Wayne David (Caerphilly),Parmjit Dhanda (Gloucester),Brian Donohoe (Ayrshire Central),Frank Doran (Aberdeen North),Jim Dowd (Lewisham West),Angela Eagle (Wallasey),Maria Eagle (Liverpool Garston),Clive Efford (Eltham), Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar & Canning Town),Caroline Flint (Don Valley),Michael Foster (Worcester),Mike Hall (Weaver Vale),Tom Harris (Glasgow South),Doug Henderson (Newcastle upon Tyne North),John Heppell (Nottingham East),Keith Hill (Streatham),Huw Irranca-Davies (Ogmore),Kevan Jones (Durham North),Martyn Jones (Clwyd South),Fraser Kemp (Houghton & Washington East),David Lammy (Tottenham),Bob Laxton (Derby North),Tom Levitt (High Peak),Ivan Lewis (Bury South),Tony Lloyd (Manchester Central),Tommy McAvoy (Rutherglen & Hamilton West),Stephen McCabe (Birmingham Hall Green),Ian McCartney (Makerfield),John McFall (Dunbartonshire West),Shona McIsaac (Cleethorpes),Tony McNulty (Harrow East),Khalid Mahmood (Birmingham Perry Barr),David Marshall (Glasgow East),Gillian Merron (Lincoln),Alun Michael (Cardiff South & Penarth),Laura Moffatt (Crawley),Elliot Morley (Scunthorpe),George Mudie (Leeds East),Meg Munn (Sheffield Heeley),Denis Murphy (Wansbeck),James Plaskitt (Warwick & Leamington),Stephen Pound (Ealing North),Ken Purchase (Wolverhampton North East),John Robertson (Glasgow North West),Frank Roy (Motherwell & Wishaw),Joan Ryan (Enfield North),Martin Salter (Reading West),Jonathan Shaw (Chatham & Aylesford),Jimmy Sheridan (Paisley & Renfrewshire North),Sion Simon (Birmingham Erdington),Angela C Smith (Sheffield Hillsborough),Anne Snelgrove (Swindon South),John Spellar (Warley),Ian Stewart (Eccles),Mark Tami (Alyn & Deeside),Dari Taylor (Stockton South),Gareth Thomas (Harrow West),Dr Desmond Turner (Brighton Kemptown),Claire Ward (Watford),Tom Watson (West Bromwich East),Dave Watts (St Helens North),Malcolm Wicks (Croydon North),Phil Woolas (Oldham East & Saddleworth) and David Wright (Telford). The Labour teller for the Aye's was Andrew Dismore (Hendon).

A disgrace, that the House of Lords must reverse.


Tom Papworth said...

So lets be clear, then.

None of them were Lib Dems.

No Lib Dems supported this egregious and execrable bill.

Worth noting, I think!

How about a Roll of Honour? Who voted against it?

And a Roll of Mediocrity for those who did not vote at all?

Scott said...

I think that you should note the third closure motion of the day where a number voted in favour of closure (just before business closed for the day) including Ed Balls, but who managed to avoid being present in the final vote. I've listed the relevant members who voted in the closure motion in my livejournal at http://loveandgarbage.livejournal.com/141119.html . I didn't check the parties but have flagged up who voted in the motion but not in the third reading vote.

Cicero said...

All of the Lib Dems present voted against.

climb every stairway said...

You might wish to see the comments of Nick Harvey, Lib Dem Defence spokesman, close to Ming, on this FOI Amendment Bill. Look in Hansard, Public Bill Committee proceedings for 7 Feb. Nick Harvey supported the Bill in Committee.